» » Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Johannes Brahms - 6 Songs After Poems By Heinrich Heine

Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Johannes Brahms - 6 Songs After Poems By Heinrich Heine album

Size MP3 album: 1441 mb. | Size FLAC album: 1183 mb.

Baritone Vocals – Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. Composed By – Johannes Brahms. Lyrics By – Heinrich Heine. Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Johannes Brahms - 6 Songs After Poems By Heinrich Heine ‎(7", EP, Mono).

Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen. Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Paul Kletzki, Maria Stader. 5. Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit. 6. Denn wir haben hie keine bleibende Statt.

Fischer-Dieskau sings Brahms's near-final work the "Four Serious Songs" opus 121 with great solemnity. This work was written upon the death of Clara Schumann. Another well-known song is "Regenlied" which Brahms used as the theme for the finale of his first sonata for violin and piano. There is much to be discovered in this compilation by repeated listening. In it Brahms poured forth intimate feelings to a degree rare in the works he composed before or after. The cycle sets 15 poems by Ludwig Tieck and tells a story of medieval courtly love lost and, ultimately, won. It is intense and personal music. I found it useful to get to know Brahms's songs through a cross-section beautifully performed by Fischer-Dieskau rather than to approach them piecemeal through individual recordings.

Remastered (p) 1993 Parlophone Records Limited, a Warner Music Group Company.

Christian Johann Heinrich Heine (German: ; 13 December 1797 – 17 February 1856) was a German poet, journalist, essayist, and literary critic. He is best known outside of Germany for his early lyric poetry, which was set to music in the form of Lieder (art songs) by composers such as Robert Schumann and Franz Schubert. Heine's later verse and prose are distinguished by their satirical wit and irony. He is considered part of the Young Germany movement

This work may be freely reproduced, stored, and transmitted, electronically or otherwise, for any non-commercial purpose. Note: The reference is to Homer’s Odyssey Book XI:488-491, Odysseus’ visit to the Underworld, to which the dying Heine considers himself banished, where Odysseus speaks with the dead Achilles, son of Peleus. Index of First Lines. A single fir-tree, lonely

Jean Cocteau once told Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau. This anthology of lieder by Brahms and Schumann is a prime example of the great singer doing just that, mining every nuance of emotion from a song while, at the same time, sounding as spontaneous and free as if he were making it up on the spot. One of the hallmarks of Fischer-Dieskau’s legacy is the ease with which he creates the spell of each individual song, drawing the listener – apparently effortlessly – into the drama created by the words and the music.


A1 Sommerabend
A2 Mondenschein
A3 Es Liebt Sich So Lieblich
B1 Meerfahrt
B2 Es Schauen Die Blumen
B3 Der Tod, Das Ist Die Kühle Nacht

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Heliodor Record Company Limited
  • Distributed By – Heliodor Record Company Limited
  • Printed By – The Haycock Press Ltd.


  • Baritone Vocals – Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
  • Composed By – Johannes Brahms
  • Lyrics By – Heinrich Heine
  • Piano – Jörg Demus


Large Tulips labels

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
30 313 EPL Fischer-Dieskau* Johannes Brahms: Lieder Nach Gedichten Von Heinrich Heine ‎(7", EP, Mono) Deutsche Grammophon 30 313 EPL Germany Unknown

Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau, Johannes Brahms - 6 Songs After Poems By Heinrich Heine album
Romantic, Classical
Performer: Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau
Title: 6 Songs After Poems By Heinrich Heine
Category: Classical
Country: Germany
Rating: 4.5/5
Votes: 756