» » Brothers Johnson - Blam!!

Brothers Johnson - Blam!! album

Size MP3 album: 1882 mb. | Size FLAC album: 1289 mb.

Blam! is the third album by the Los Angeles, California-based duo Brothers Johnson. Released in 1978, the album topped the Billboard R&B albums chart and reached number seven on the pop albums chart. Ain't We Funkin' Now" - (Alex Weir, Louis Johnson, Quincy Jones, Tom Bahler, Valerie Johnson) 5:36. So Won't You Stay" - (David Foster, Harvey Mason) 3:20. Blam!" - (Alex Weir, David Foster, George Johnson, Louis Johnson, Quincy Jones, Tom Bahler) 4:55.

Another group that epitomized sophisti-funk was the Brothers Johnson, whose third album, Blam!!, demonstrates that funk can be sleek and gritty at the same time. This 1978 classic is full of definitive examples of sophisti-funk; if you're a lover of that style, tracks like "Ain't We Funkin' Now" (a major hit), "Mista' Cool," "Ride-O-Rocket," and the title song are required listening.

Brothers Johnson ‎– Blam!! Label: A&M Records ‎– AMLH 64714. Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Gatefold. Bass, Guitar, Vocals, Backing Vocals – Louis Johnson. Design – Chuck Beeson. Drums – Harvey Mason, Steve Shaffer (tracks: A2). Drums – Steve Shaffer (tracks: A1).

Only 5 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by wholesale direct outlet. Reissue of the 1978 soul/funk album produced by Quincy Jones. BLAM hit on the US pop album charts and includes the hit "Blam!". Exclusive discount for Prime members. Sample this album Artist (Sample). 1. 30. Ain't We Funkin' Now (Album Version).

Brothers Johnson (aka The Brothers Johnson), is a band consisting of the musicians George Johnson ('Lightnin' Licks') and Louis Johnson ('Thunder Thumbs') (April 13th 1955 - May 22nd 2015).

This album has an average beat per minute of 111 BPM (slowest/fastest tempos: 104/122 BPM). See its BPM profile at the bottom of the page. BPM Profile Blam!! Album starts at 114BPM, ends at BPM (-114), with tempos within the -BPM range. Try refreshing the page if dots are missing). Recent albums by The Brothers Johnson.

BROTHERS JOHNSON - Blam. Artist: The Brothers Johnson. Album: Blam!! (Bonus Track), 2013. Not sure if this been posted already. Enjoy! Title LP Blam featuring the hit "Aint We Funkin Now".

Tracklist Hide Credits

A1 Ain't We Funkin' Now
Drums [Syndrums] – Steve Shafer*Written-By – A. Weir*, L. Johnson*, Q. Jones*, T. Bahler*, V. Johnson*
A2 So Won't You Stay
Drums – Steve Shafer*Guitar – Larry CarltonTenor Saxophone [Solo] – Michael BreckerWritten-By – D. Foster*, H. Mason*
A3 Blam!
Written-By – A. Weir*, D. Foster*, G. Johnson*, L. Johnson*, Q. Jones*, T. Bahler*
B1 Rocket Countdown / Blastoff
Written-By – B. Reichenbach*, J. Hey*
B2 Ride-O-Rocket
Piano [Acoustic] – Richard TeeTimpani – Steve Foreman*Written-By – Ashford & Simpson
B3 Mista' Cool
Synthesizer – Larry WilliamsWritten-By – E. Eckstine*, L. Williams*, L. Johnson*
B4 It's You Girl
Guitar [Additional] – Steve KhanLead Vocals, Rhythm Guitar – Alex WeirWritten-By – G. Johnson*, L. Johnson*, Q. Jones*
B5 Streetwave
Electric Piano – Wayne VaughnSoprano Saxophone [Solo] – Kim HutchcroftSynthesizer – Larry WilliamsWritten-By – A. Weir*, J. Hey*, L. Johnson*, W. Vaughn*

Companies, etc.

  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – A&M Records, Inc.
  • Copyright (c) – A&M Records, Inc.
  • Manufactured By – King Record Co. Ltd


  • Alto Saxophone, Soprano Saxophone, Baritone Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Alto Flute – Kim Hutchcroft
  • Arranged By [Horns] – Jerry Hey, Quincy Jones, Tom Bahler
  • Art Direction – Roland Young
  • Backing Vocals – Bobby Floyd*, Bobby Rodriquez*, Frank Floyd, Gwen Guthrie, Kenny Pickens, Patti Austin, Raymond Simpson*, Richard Heath, Tom Bahler, Yollanda McCullough*, Vivian Cherry, William Eaton, Zachary Sanders
  • Bass, Guitar, Vocals, Backing Vocals – Louis Johnson
  • Design [Album Design] – Chuck Beeson
  • Drums – Harvey Mason
  • Electric Piano – Richard Tee
  • Illustration – Drew Struzan
  • Lead Guitar, Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals – George Johnson
  • Mixed By – Bruce Swedien
  • Percussion – Eddie "Bongo" Brown
  • Photography By – Glen Wexler
  • Producer – Quincy Jones
  • Producer [Associate] – Tom Bahler
  • Programmed By [Synthesizer] – Steve Porcaro
  • Rhythm Guitar, Backing Vocals – Alex Weir
  • Saxophone, Flute, Clarinet, Alto Flute – Larry Williams
  • Soprano Saxophone – Kim Hutchcroft
  • Synthesizer, Electric Piano – David Foster
  • Tenor Saxophone, Soloist – Michael Brecker
  • Trombone [Alto Trombone], Bass Trombone – Bill Reichenbach
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn, French Horn, Piccolo Trumpet – Jerry Hey
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Trumpet [Slide Trumpet], Piccolo Trumpet – Gary Grant


℗&©1978 A&M Records, Inc.
Manufactured by King Record Co., Ltd., Tokyo, Japan
Recorded and mixed at Cherokee Recording Studios, L.A.; A&R Recording, N.Y. and Westlake Audio, L.A.
Mastered at A&M Recording Studios, Hollywood, CA

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Rights Society: JASRAC

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
SP 4714, SP4714 Brothers Johnson Blam!! ‎(LP, Album, Mon) A&M Records, A&M Records SP 4714, SP4714 US 1978
PR 4714 The Brothers Johnson* Blam ‎(LP, Album, Pic, Jap) A&M Records PR 4714 US 1978
AMP-6010 Brothers Johnson Blam!! ‎(LP, Album, RE, Gat) A&M Records AMP-6010 Japan 1979
AMLH 64714 Brothers Johnson ¡¡Blam!! ‎(LP, Album) A&M Records AMLH 64714 Spain 1978
SMCR 5068 Brothers Johnson Blam!! ‎(CD, Album, RE, RM, Exp) SoulMusic Records SMCR 5068 UK 2012

Brothers Johnson - Blam!! album
Funk, Rhythm & Blues, Soul
Performer: Brothers Johnson
Title: Blam!!
Category: Soul & Funk
Country: US
Released: 1978
Rating: 4.3/5
Votes: 447
Other Formats: DTS AU ASF VOX VQF AA MP2