» » The The - Soul Mining & Infected

The The - Soul Mining & Infected album

Size MP3 album: 1119 mb. | Size FLAC album: 1599 mb.

Infected is the second album by the The, released on Some Bizzare/Epic Records on 17 November 1986. The album produced four UK singles, including their best-selling single "Heartland", which reached 29 and spent 10 weeks on the chart, "Infected" (UK "Slow Train to Dawn" (UK and "Sweet Bird of Truth" (UK Although it only peaked at 14 in the UK Albums Chart, it stayed on the chart for 30 weeks, making it by far The The's most commercially successful album.

Soul Mining is the debut album by The The. The album was released in the UK on 21 October 1983 and included versions of the singles Uncertain Smile, Perfect and This Is the Day. The album version of Uncertain smile replaces the saxo of the 12" single for a piano solo courtesy of Jools Holland. Soul Mining Q&A.

The next track, The Sinking Feeling, really acts as a sign, pointing in the direction that the rest of the album follows. This track has a clearer lyrical contention, one of depression and anxiety, more specifically the pessimistic narrative of a teenager facing an existential crisis. The music in this song is driven by an uneasy synth riff and the reverb-drenched guitar of Johnny Marr, with the ironic addition of an up-tempo rhythmic pattern that is driven by keyboard claps and tambourine.

The The : Soul Mining,álbum, crítica, lista de pistas, mp3, letras. Other productions from The The. 45 RPM: The Singles of The The. London Town 1983-1993.

Album · 1982 · 7 Songs. Released: 31 Dec 1982. 2001 Sony Music Entertainment (UK) Ltd.

The The’s 1983 official debut ‘Soul Mining’ is one of the defining albums of the 1980’s. This is the Day' and 'Uncertain Smile' were the enduring pop hits but 'Giant' is the album’s percussive cornerstone. Matt Johnson went on to record the stunning 'Infected'. UMPG is proud to represent both of these landmark albums. Play Classic Catalogue Album: The The 'Soul Mining'. I've Been Waitin' for Tomorrow. The The. This is the Day.

1983 saw the release of The The’s true debut album, Soul Mining which featured some of their biggest songs, Uncertain Smile, Perfect and This is the Day. The album ranked at on the UK album chart and was well received by critics. NME wrote, In days when the pop song has been reduced to the reiteration of catch-phrases, Matt Johnson flexes a rare literary flair. The song This is the Day which reached in the UK in 1983 starts off with a twinkling melody like the sound of water droplets falling onto a pond.

But don't get the impression that it's made for dancing. Instead of the light fare displayed on Soul Mining, Infected's songs seethe instead of preen, and Matt Johnson's lyrics are laced with tension. Thematically, he plunges a lance into the exposed midsection of Great Britain, analyzing the state of modern urban life in the country. This is the land where nothing changes," Johnson sings on the World Party-ish "Heartland.


Soul Mining
1-1 I've Been Waitin' For Tomorrow (All Of My Life) 5:47
1-2 This Is The Day 5:01
1-3 The Sinking Feeling 3:42
1-4 Uncertain Smile 6:53
1-5 The Twilight Hour 5:56
1-6 Soul Mining 4:49
1-7 Giant 9:36
1-8 Perfect 5:43
2-1 Infected 4:30
2-2 Out Of The Blue (Into The Fire) 5:11
2-3 Heartland 5:06
2-4 Angels Of Deception 4:38
2-5 Sweet Bird Of Truth 5:04
2-6 Slow Train To Dawn 4:14
2-7 Twilight Of A Champion 4:22
2-8 The Mercy Beat 7:23

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By – Sony Music Entertainment (Australia) Limited
  • Copyright (c) – Sony Music Productions Pty. Ltd.
  • Phonographic Copyright (p) – Sony Music Productions Pty. Ltd.
  • Recorded By – CBS Records


  • Artwork – Andy Dog
  • Engineer [Assistant] – Barbara Milne, Sir Barrence Clempson* (tracks: 2-1 to 2-8), Mark Robinson , Mini Matt, Peter Woodroffe*, Steve Reece
  • Music By, Written-By, Lyrics By – Matt Johnson
  • Producer – G. Langan* (tracks: 2-4, 2-8), Matt Johnson (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8, 2-1, 2-2, 2-3, 2-6), Paul Hardiman (tracks: 1-1 to 1-8), R. Mosimann* (tracks: 2-5, 2-7), W. Livesey* (tracks: 2-1, 2-2, 2-3, 2-6)
  • Written-By, Music By – R. Mosimann* (tracks: 2-7)


Manufactured in Australia.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 9 399748 082029
  • Matrix / Runout (CD1): CDEPC-25525
  • Matrix / Runout (CD2): CDEPC-26770

The The - Soul Mining & Infected album
New Wave, Synth-pop, Indie Rock
Performer: The The
Title: Soul Mining & Infected
Category: Electronic / Rock / Pop
Released: 1995
Rating: 4.8/5
Votes: 821