» » Hawkwind - Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music / Quark Strangeness And Charm

Hawkwind - Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music / Quark Strangeness And Charm album

Size MP3 album: 1300 mb. | Size FLAC album: 1874 mb.

Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music is the sixth studio album by the British rock band Hawkwind, released in 1976. It reached No. 33 on the UK album charts. The title makes references to old science fiction magazines (Astounding and Amazing Stories), the concept being that each piece of music (and its title) would be interpreted as an individual science fiction story.

Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music (1976). Written-By – Brock, Calvert. 11. Quark, Strangeness And Charm. Written-By – Rudolph, Calvert.

Quark, Strangeness and Charm is the seventh studio album by the English space rock group Hawkwind, released in 1977. It spent six weeks on the UK albums chart peaking at number 30. This is Hawkwind's seventh studio album, hence "The Hawkwind Part 7" title on the inner sleeve. It is the band's first album without co-founding member Nik Turner, and drummer Alan Powell had also departed. In addition, Adrian "Ade" Shaw from Magic Muscle replaced Paul Rudolph during the recording session.

Hawkwind are an English rock band, one of the earliest space rock groups. Their lyrics favour urban and science fiction themes.

Exclusively for Prime members. After the somewhat disappointing-and g Sounds, Amazing Music, Hawkwind streamlined its bridge crew and refitted the nuclear drive for one of its most daring interstellar voyages. The result, Quark, Strangeness and Charm (a sly reference to quantum physics), is a triumph in every way: ingenius lyrics, tight, well-crafted songs and a wealth of musical invention

Tracklist Hide Credits

Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music
1 Reefer Madness
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
2 Steppenwolf
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
3 City Of Lagoons
Written-By – House*
4 The Aubergine That Ate Rangoon
Written-By – Rudolph*
5 Kerb Crawler
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
6 Kadu Flyer
Written-By – Mandelkau , House*
7 Chronoglide
Written-By – Powell*
Quark Strangeness And Charm
8 Spirit Of The Age
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
9 Damnation Alley
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*, House*
10 Fable Of A Failed Race
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
11 Quark, Strangeness And Charm
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
12 Hassan I Sabha
Written-By – Rudolph*, Calvert*
13 The Forge Of Vulcan
Written-By – House*
14 Days Of The Underground
Written-By – Brock*, Calvert*
15 Iron Dream
Written-By – King*

Companies, etc.

  • Licensed From – Archie-Arc


  • Backing Vocals, Bass Guitar – Adrian Shaw (tracks: 8-15)
  • Bass – Paul Rudolph (tracks: 1-7)
  • Drums – Alan Powell (tracks: 1-7)
  • Drums, Percussion – Simon King (tracks: 8-15)
  • Flute, Saxophone, Vocals – Nik Turner (tracks: 1-7)
  • Guitar, Effects, Lead Vocals, Synthesizer – Dave Brock
  • Keyboards, Percussion [Anvil], Vocals, Violin – Simon House
  • Vocals, Percussion – Robert Calvert


Two releases on one CD

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 9 396318 105029
  • Label Code: LC29037

Other versions

Category Artist Title (Format) Label Category Country Year
RFM 030 Hawkwind Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music / Quark, Strangeness And Charm ‎(CD, Album, Comp, Unofficial) Rock Fever Music RFM 030 Germany 2001
none Hawkwind Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music / Quark Strangeness And Charm ‎(CDr, Comp, Unofficial) 2000 FruitGum Corp. none Russia 2005

Hawkwind - Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music / Quark Strangeness And Charm album
Space Rock, Psychedelic Rock
Performer: Hawkwind
Title: Astounding Sounds, Amazing Music / Quark Strangeness And Charm
Category: Rock
Country: Germany
Released: 2005
Rating: 4.2/5
Votes: 886